Association to Horizon 2020 is governed by Article 7 of the Horizon 2020 Regulation. This article sets out criteria for association to the Framework Programme: good capacity in science, technology and innovation; good track record of participation in EU research and innovation programmes. It limits association to countries geographically close to Europe – the enlargement, neighbourhood and EFTA countries. Association to Horizon 2020 takes place through the conclusion of an Association Agreement.

Marie Skłodowska-Curie actions are part of the Horizon 2020 programme for research and innovation and governed by the same rules.

Legal entities (Universities, Companies, Research Centres, International European Interest Organisations, etc.) from Associated Countries are encouraged and can participate in the MSC actions under the same conditions as legal entities from the EU Member States.

As of 29 April 2016, the following countries are Associated to Horizon 2020: Iceland, Norway, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey, Israel, Moldova, Switzerland, Faroe Islands, Ukraine, Tunisia, Georgia and Armenia.

So far 16% of the submitted proposals and 10% of the funded proposals under MSC actions come from Associated Countries.

This campaign aims to help the Associated Countries, especially those that recently signed the association agreement, to improve their participation in submitted and successfully evaluated proposals.

Upcoming events
Closed 2016 events